Speakman Chair of Preaching

Speakman Chair of Preaching for Massanetta Springs

Dr. Frederick B. SpeakmanFrederick B. Speakman began coming to Massanetta Springs in 1953. Over a forty year period, he inspired young ministers and ministered to many while on the platform at the Bible Conference. Fred graduated from the University of Oklahoma, Harvard University (M.A.) and Princeton Theological Seminary (B.D.), and in 1950 he received the honorary Doctor of Divinity degree from Washington and Jefferson College in Washington, PA. He served three churches: Central-Brick in East Orange, NJ, Third Church in Pittsburgh, PA, and Westminster Church in Dayton, OH. Fred was also an author and wrote three books of sermons: The Salty Tang, Love is Something You Do, and He Dwelt Among Us.

In 1957 Fred purchased a home in the Cottage Community, on the Massanetta Springs grounds, and in 1983, he and his wife, Zoe, retired and moved to the Cottage Community. With Fred in mind, a family in the Cottage Community began an endowment to which others have added, to ensure that the quality and name recognition of preachers for the Bible Conference will continue to be of the highest quality as has been in the past! This endowment supports the Fred Speakman Chair of Preaching. Each year one or more outstanding preachers are brought to Massanetta during the Bible Conference by the proceeds from the endowment.

Preachers receiving the Speakman Chair of Preaching award:

  • 2018- The Rev. Drs. Kimberly Bracken Long and Thomas G Long.
  • 2017- The Rev. Dr. Luke Powery
  • 2016 – The Rev. Dr. Steve Eason
  • 2015- The Rev. Michael Lindvall
  • 2014- The Rev. Dr. Debra J. Mumford
  • 2013-  The Rev. Dr. James C. Howell
  • 2012 – The Rev. Dr. Brian K. Blount
  • 2011 – The Rev. Dr. M. Craig Barnes
  • 2010 – The Rev. Dr. Joanna M. Adams
  • 2009 – The Rev. Dr. William J. Carl III
  • 2008 – The Rev. Dr. Anna Carter Florence
  • 2007 – The Rev. Thomas G. Long
  • 2006 – The Rev. Dr. Frances Taylor Gench
  • 2005 – Bishop William H. Willimon
  • 2004 – Dr. Stephen D. McConnell
  • 2003 – The Rev. Dr. William Powell Tuck
  • 2002 – Dr. Ben Lacy Rose
  • 2001 – Dr. Jerold D. Shetler
  • 2000 – Dr. Paul T. Eckel
  • 1999 – Dr. Myron Augsburger
  • 1998 – Dr. Thomas K. Tewell
  • 1997 – Dr. Ernest Campbell